Organisation & Structure

Structure of the Matterhorn Group AG

The Matterhorn Group AG is a 100%-owned subsidiary company of the Burgergemeinde Zermatt. As a leading regional operator in hotel and restaurant management, the group creates additional value through its economic performance and makes an important contribution to the experience of its international guests in Zermatt.

Legal structure

In 2018, the Burgher’s Assembly set the conditions for the implementation of a modern and future-oriented restructuring.

It approved the merger between the Matterhorn Group AG and Matterhorn Group Management AG and authorized the renting of the hotels and restaurants to Matterhorn Group AG. The property ownership remains with the Burgergemeinde Zermatt, while the hotels and restaurants management is assigned to the Matterhorn Group AG.

Business Areas

Matterhorn Group AG is active in four strategic business areas:

  • Gastronomie
  • Hospitality
  • Retail
  • Real Estate Management

The Matterhorn Group AG structural organization is representative of the business areas and creates the framework conditions for efficient and professional management.

Board of Directors of the Matterhorn Group AG

Andreas Biner

President and chairman of the Board of Directors

Lawyer and notary, Zermatt On the Board since 2002

Albert B. Bass


Certified expert in accounting and controlling, Naters, on the Board since 2002

Silvo Perren


Hotelier, Zermatt, on the board since 2000

Michael Zurwerra

Michael Zurwerra


Rektor Rector of the Fernfachhochschule Schweiz, Ried-Brig, on the board since 2020

Paul Marc Julen

Paul-Marc Julen


Hotel Management Diploma HF/SHL, Zermatt, on the board since 2020

Valérie Biner


dipl. Tourismusfachfrau HF, on the board since 2021

Dominik Franzen


Hotelier, on the board since 2021

Alain Kronig


Ski instructor, secretary since 2023